“An insincere and evil friend is more to be feared than a wild beast; a wild beast may wound your body, but an evil friend will wound your mind.” Budda

Typically I prefer use this blog for good things, things that Budda would appreciate. But… try as I may, I am only human and can only deal with so much.

A lot has changed in my life over the last few months, a lot! Some for the good and some for the bad. One of those changes has been in my friends. I have aquired a few new friends and I have been very thankful for those friends. However, new friends can equal new drama and that is getting old.

The last few days have made me realize a few things about these new people and in the words of Budda, “There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth…not going all the way, and not starting.” Well I am goign to start the truth and others should learn to go all the way.

Friday night I had plans to cook for a group of friends and then everyone was to go bowling. About two or three hours before I was to have dinner finished two friends said they would not be coming. Two other friends were on the fence so I decided to pull the plug.

Saturday I had a very busy day. I had to meet Jeremy, go to a fundraiser/meet and greet for another friend, then head downtown for a dinner. In short, my day started to get backed up which caused me to run late for the meet and greet as well as dinner. A whopping 30 minutes late. This did not seem really “late” to me considering dinner had never been on time before. Jeremy attended and like Jeremy always does, he joked around with my new friends, friends that he really doesnt know. He made a comment that the meat was dry, he was totally joking and everyone was kidding around…. (this will come back up later.)

Sunday I orginally had plans to go golfing with someone who has become one of my best friends. He has listened to me whine and complain over the past few months and probably knows more about me than any of these other newbies. He and I have the luxury of playing golf during the week so when yet another friend asked about going to the mountains on Sunday instead of golfing I rescheduled. Keep in mind that this was Saturday night…

Sunday came and went… it was an overall nice day weatherwise and I had fun doing nothing.. not even tweeting. My phone had no service for 95% of the day and after the initial feeling of being disconnected I went with it! It wasn’t until Sunday night that things got interesting.. and even then I didn’t see what was around the corner.

I love Twitter, and I encourage EVERYONE to tweet. You can meet some of the best people on there and it’s fun to see people interact. I only mention this because Sunday night a few tweets were exchanged between the friend I went to the mountains with and a friend that prides himself on being our groups “truth”. Apparently somewhere there is a rule, and that rule says when I want to hang out with someone I need to invite everyone, or at least get permission. Friend A was pissed that my other friend and I did not invite him…. let’s not forget a few things about friend A. #1, he had a very late night….. and #2 he is SICK! Regardless he was mad or jealous.. whichever.

Now this is not the first time this has happened, but it will be the last. Even then, I took it in stride and let it go, something I have tried hard to do for months. Then today happened… a friend recently discovered Blogger.. and a friend has decided that it is okay for him to call everyone out for whatever he wants, yet expects no one to call him out about anything. Well a friend post a blog today that talked about this weekend and even accused me of “standing up” my golf friend. Something that even my golf friend says didn’t happen. Cancelled the night before, guilty. Standing up… not guilty.

Now that I have rambled on.. what does all of this mean? I guess basically it means I need to choose my friends better. People who have no problem pointing out what they view as problems with others are not people I should hang out with. Especially when they have a few issues themselves. Point #2, if you are scared your “friends” are going to stop hanging out with you then maybe you should refrain from posting blogs about them and butting into their business.

You wanted truth. You got truth. To steal a line from another blog… My message is as it always is: be honest, be nice and show respect. otherwise.. you might just get called out yourself!

I’m not mad.. just tired of it.

Leave a Reply

