Grandma

Sarah Blunt Akers
2.25.1928 – 1.25.2010

I appreciate all of the messages I have received over the last week.  My grandmother passed last night (Monday) at about 7:15pm.  Almost her entire family was around her.

If you know anything about me you know she was my biggest fan and the brightest star in my sky.  She was the reason for so much of my personality and even the reason I became such a huge John F. Kennedy fan.  She always loved to hear what I was doing and any of my successes.  I hate that in the last few years and months of her life, when I had become the most successful, she was unable to enjoy it with me.

She had 9 wonderful kids, 14 amazing grandkids and 10 great grandkids! In such a large family she still managed to make each one feel special, even if they all knew I was her favorite. 🙂

The last few weeks of life were tough on her, but she was a fighter.  We lost my uncle last month and just a week ago she took quiet a turn on us.  I was fortunate enough to be able to stay with her day and night for the last week of her life, and it was the best and worst week of mine.  She went peacefully and without a doubt that she was very loved by each and everyone of us.

As a side note, my uncle who had the heart attack last week is doing better and was released in time to be here when she passed.

For those of you who have asked, the arrangements are below:

Visitation

Wednesday January 27th, 2010
5:00pm – 8:00pm

Davidson Funeral Home
301 North Main Street
Lexington, NC 27292

Funeral

Thursday January 28th, 2010
2:00pm

Freedom Baptist Church
214 Hillcrest Court
Lexington, NC 27272

The best place to order flowers in Lexington is Becks Florist.
Their # is (336) 248-2891

2 thoughts on “Grandma

  1. Been keep ing up with you through all of this. I am so sorry for your loss, but your Grandma can quit fighting and rest now. Thinking of you often and sincerely.

  2. JAMIE, I’M SORRY ABOUT YOUR GRANDMOTHER. IF YOU NEED ME , YOU KNOW YOU CAN CALL ME. I’VE ALWAYS LOVED YOUR G-MA. SHE WAS A WONDERFUL PERSON. I LOVE YOU BABY. AUNT WILLA

Leave a Reply

