My new Facebook rule(s)…

Social Media is my thing.. you all know it… but Twitter is more my thing than Facebook.  I go through phases on Facebook where I’m fairly open and updating.. then I will disappear a bit.. then I’m back.  At one point a year or so ago I went through and unfriended everyone, well, almost everyone it seemed.  I also went through Twitter and blocked everyone..

I regret blocking everyone on Twitter, but I’m okay with unfriending everyone on Facebook.  For the last year or so I have been very picky about the friend request I accept and I’ve rarely sent a friend request to others.  I like that I don’t feel the need to censor myself on Facebook, that’s what privacy settings are for.  But a few weeks ago I let everyone out of purgatory, you know, that place where people sit that you refuse to accept on Facebook, the place that says, I don’t want to decline you but really don’t want to be your friend. I also sent out a few friend request that I shouldn’t have….

Where am I going with all of this?

Well first, I’m going to start accepting all request I get.. why?  Hell, I don’t know.. I guess I don’t need anymore people thinking I’m stuck up than already do.

Second, you know that hide from timeline feature?  That just became my new best friend… everyone I wouldn’t mind unfriending for one reason or another; I don’t really like them, they are too negative, they post game crap, etc… yeah I just decided I would hide them… out of sight out of mind so to speak.

Third… groups! I love groups!! I have three setups currently… All friends, Close friends, and Priority.  The first two are self explanatory and the final one is that core group of four of five people that I will never censor anything with and I always want to know what’s going on in their lives, if you are asking yourself if you are on that list, you’re not… if you are on that list, you know you are on that list. 😉  Over the next few days I’m going to add several others… Real Estate, Politics, etc..

So.. the new rule is… my Facebook is my Facebook… I won’t censor myself but I also want unfriend you.. if you were dumb enough to friend me.. you’re stuck with me… but if I was dumb enough to friend you and regret it.. well I have a list or block feature for that. 😉

Follow me on twitter.. you will get way more of out our friendship that way… I NEVER censor myself there… http://www.twitter.com/JamesAkersJr

Leave a Reply

