Outing Aaron Schock was wrong. Period.

A friend sent me a text about Rep. Aaron Schock on Saturday, stating he had been outed and now my friend was questioning his interactions with a certain SC Senator.  I’ll admit I initially had to Google Aaron’s name, but as soon as I saw his picture I knew who it was.  He’s the Representative from Illinois that reminds me a lot of a friend of mine.  He’s a work out junkie as shown off in his shirtless pictures. He’s my age, the first Representative to be born in the 80’s.  He’s all about fashion, just check out the pants he’s wearing in his latest Facebook picture.  He’s single.  He might be gay. He’s hot.  I’ll admit, my gaydar SCREAMS at his pictures. I have very little doubt that he’s gay, in-fact, Aaron, if you are reading this, please call me.. I’ve never been to Chicago and would love a tour……

My questions are these…  Why does it matter?  Who are you to out him? and why is the Advocate and other GLBT organizations jumping all over the band wagon of outing him?  Oh.. it’s because he’s gay, yet votes against gay marriage.  Voted against the repeal of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell and opposes DOMA.  He probably isn’t a member of HRC…

Here are my main two problems with this.

#1.  In my opinion, it is NEVER okay to out anyone. Ever. Period. You never know what motivations others have for publicly sharing or hiding their sexual preference or relationship status.  I said he was single earlier, actually, he may be in a relationship… if so, good for him… it’s none of my business. It’s none of yours either. It was my choice to state that I was gay in my last blog… and this blog… it’s my choice to disclose if I am in a relationship or not… I may or may not be.  It’s not yours. What Dan Savage, Michelangelo Signorile and others are doing by mocking and attacking Aaron for, are the exact same things that those same people would attack non-gays for if they were directed at anyone else, by anyone else.  Savage and Signorile are hypocrites.

#2. I am so tired of people thinking that because I am gay I am automatically required to subscribe to a specific set of beliefs.  Aaron Schock should be allowed to vote how he wishes, how his constituents wish, on any Bill up for a vote.  If his constituents don’t like it, let them vote him out of office.  Being gay does not automatically require someone to believe in same-sex marriage.  I’m tired of “tolerant” people being intolerant of others in the name of tolerance! (Did you follow that?)

Believe it or not, you can be gay & Christian.  You can be gay and have a different opinion.  You can be gay and conservative. (Have you ever seen my friend @GayPatriot on twitter?)

I get that Schock is a Member of Congress.  I’m fully aware that people expect politicians to have thicker skin than most people.  I respect someone who disagree’s with his votes… but outing him? Because he is hot.. dresses nice… because he follows Tom Daley?… because he is single from what we can tell… and based off of a status update from a pissed off former CBS reporter?  Come on…

A friend sent me a picture yesterday related to the Duck Dynasty post from two weeks ago… it applies here in some ways..  It said:

“Our culture has accepted two huge lies.  The first is that if you disagree with someone’s lifestyle, you must fear or hate them.  The second is that to love someone means you agree with everything they believe or do.  Both are nonsense.  You don’t have to compromise convictions to be compassionate.”  It was overlaid on an image of Phil.

Savage & Signorile are becoming the Rush Limbaugh of the gay community.  They both spew hate and intolerance under the disguise of tolerance.  When I was running for office in ’08 I was on the Signorile show… I do not remember the topic that I disagreed with him on, but he lit into me…. he has no tolerance of any one of who disagrees with him.  Savage is not much better.

Leave Aaron Schock alone.  If he want’s to come out, let him, welcome a gay member of Congress into the fold.  If he doesn’t, that’s fine too.  If he wants to get married… to a woman.. or a man, congratulations!! It’s none of my business… and outing him should have never been an option.

Oh and Aaron, I’m on twitter… @JamesAkersJr

3nottrans

2 thoughts on “Outing Aaron Schock was wrong. Period.

  1. Being a political junkie .. I’ve known who he is for some time and I’m torn on this. See, normally I’d agree with you that outing someone against there will is not a good thing. At all. But .. there are exigent circumstances to most things where individual cases are treated not the same. With Schock .. if he’s gay .. his own hypocrisy (which you speak of in your blog re: Savage, etc) will have lead to his inevitable outing. It would be hard to feel sorry for him due to his own vociferous anti-gay voting record. & yeah, I concur with you that being gay doesn’t require you to agree with the giant gay consensus but he’s not just being against the tide .. he’s nearly, if not flat out, anti-gay in his comments and voting record. The problem I see is there’s no 100% evidence he is gay or not. But if he is .. I’m not surprised that people would find him to be the ultimate hypocrite and revel in his outing and just comeuppance …

  2. But, really, if he’s “in the closet” and struggling to come to term with his sexual preferences, why does anyone think that outing him is going to make that struggle come any easier? If anything, questioning his “manhood” hard enough might drive him over the edge of sanity.

    At the end of the day, your sexual preferences and your religion shouldn’t color the way you vote – or your opinion of someone else. It’s a product of our “dirty little secret” society that has to stop – everybody is so concerned about what everybody else does behind closed doors.

Leave a Reply

